

SYLLABUS OF OPTIONAL SUBJECTS ODIA (UPSC CS MAINS)

ODIA

PAPER-I

(Answers must be written in Odia)

Section A

History of Odia Language

- (i) Origin and development of Odia Language—Influence of Austric, Dravidian, Perso— Arabic and English on Odia Language.
- (ii) Phonetics and Phonemics : Vowels, Consonants Principles of changes in Odia sounds.
- (iii) Morphology: Morphemes (free, bound compound and complex), derivational and inflectional affixes, case inflection, conjugation of verb.
- (iv) Syntax: Kinds of sentences and their trans-formation, structure of sentences.
- (v) Semantics—Different types of change in meaning. Euphemism.
- (vi) Common errors in spellings, grammatical uses and construction of sentences.
- (vii) Regional variations in Odia Language (Western, Southern and Northern Odia) and Dialects (Bhatri and Desia).

Section B

History of Odia Literature Service Academy

- (i) Historical backgrounds (social, cultural and political) of Odia Literature of different periods.
- (ii) Ancient epics, ornate kavyas and padavalis.
- (iii) Typical structural forms of Odia Literature (Koili, Chautisa, Poi, Chaupadi, Champu).
- (iv) Modern trends in poetry, drama short story, novel essay and literary criticism.

PAPER-II

(Answers must be written in Odia)

Critical Study of texts—

The paper will require first hand reading of the text and test the critical ability of the candidate.

Section A

Poetry

(Ancient)

- 1. Sāralā Dās—Shanti Parva from Mahābhārata.
- 2. Jaganāth Dās—Bhāgabata, XI Skadhā—Jadu Avadhuta Sambāda.

(Medieval)

- 3. Dinakrushna Dās—Raskallola—(Chhāndas—16 & 34)
- 4. Upendra Bhanja—Lavanyabati (Chhandas—1 & 2).

(Modern)

- 5. Rãdhãnath Rãy—Chandrabhãgã.
- 6. Mãyādhar Mänasinha—Jeevan—Chitã.
- 7. Sătchidananda Routray—Kabită—1962.
- 8. Ramākānta Ratha—Saptama Ritu.

Section B

Drama:

- 9. Manoranjan Dãs—Kätha-Ghoda.
- 10. Bijay Mishra—Tata Niranjanä. il Service Academy

Novel:

- 11. Fakir Mohan Senapati—Chhamana Athaguntha.
- 12. Gopināth Mohānty—Dānāpani.

Short Story:

- 13. Surendra Mohānty—Marālara Mrityu.
- 14. Manoj Dās—Laxmira Abhisāra.

Essay:

- 15. Chittaranjan Das—Tranga O Tadit (First Five essays).
- 16. Chandra Sekhar Rath—Mun Satyadharmã Kahuchhi (First five essays).